Wild is the Wind

Original album art.

This incredible song, originally with vocal by Nina Simone, is the soundtrack to my morning today. Written for a film, from an album by the same name, and repurposed by so many others including my father in another universe David Bowie.

I can understand an artist’s obsession with their craft when I sit here and I try to write how this song makes me feel.

It would not be enough to retype the bittersweet lyrics. To describe the melancholy passion of her voice, or the sparse, rich soundscape of the score.

My pitiful grasp of this language is not worthy of such a task. But this is my tribute to a song. May you be wild at heart, and free to live as you choose.

Leave a Reply

