Food Shopping and Second Tier Essentials

Well anyway I have been reading Gertrude Stein today so if I do away with some grammatical conventions forgive me but I fear I never really needed them at all.

Haha, JUST KIDDING! I wouldn’t do that to you. I know you appreciate the punchy periods, would miss the pithy apostrophe (say that 10 times fast), the excellent ellipses and …

Okay, alright.

Today was all about the foods. My body staged a full-scale revolt against its own self (second time in a lifetime) and now refuses to digest various foods properly. It’s, shall we say, a sensitive little muffin. Which means the last 2 weeks of eating take away dinners has left my stomach pretty unhappy.

20120702-213736.jpg

My Old Faithful – fresh mint leaves in hot water, settles the tum

While I did my best last week to accumulate some basic, essential items I realised it was high time I got myself some second tier essentials. (For the uninitiated, second tier is marketing speak for I could give a crap, until I need you, usually used to refer to a hierarchy in guest lists or media spots).

THE LIST – Second Tier Essentials

– Frying pan with a decent sized base – having just one small sized saucepan is a little restrictive when it comes to cooking dinner. Breakfast fine. Maybe even lunch. But the little European woman in me is wringing her apron and shouting gibberish at the idea of trying to make a halfway decent dinner in it.

– Egg lifter – difficult to replace this with any other item, as I discovered this morning trying to lift a poached egg from it’s soupy domain – with two teaspoons… I don’t have to tell you for you to know this was a huge fail.

– Colander – such a simple, yet marvellous invention! Hot or cold, when liquids need draining, hands are not enough. Especially for the hot.

– Wooden spoons – beats a teaspoon any day, especially a plastic one

– Pretty straining spoon with wooden handle – OK not essential but it was 99c and look how pretty it is!

– Can opener – to avoid opening my hand instead of the can while trying to release its hidden goodness

Of course, just to stick with tradition I forgot a few things:

– Cling Wrap – useful but probably not essential

– Scissors – also, have replaced these with a knife thus far.. but would be nice to not risk slashing open my hands every time I want to open a packet…

20120702-213720.jpg

Today’s spoils from the 99c store. Can’t believe I forgot the scissors… I even thought of them while I was there… massive shopping brain fail!

I also found a wonderful fruit and veg grocer “To The World Farm” in easy walking distance, with a halfway decent and very reasonably priced supermarket next door. The grocer, whilst small, even offered things such as dandelion leaves and had meticulously stacked specimens of farm grown essentials – definitely a fan. Didn’t take a pic (at risk of looking like a tourist) but you can see their reviews here on Yelp. Here and next door I filled the fridge for $50 with fresh fruit and veg and some pantry essentials.

20120702-213714.jpg

I just love the packaging here. Most items of course we have in Oz. But some things just looked so cute, I had to buy them. Like these lovely ladies.

20120702-213709.jpg

This has got to be the most essential pantry item. Great for cleaning, salads, poaching eggs… anything else? Also easy on the eye.

On a side note – Yelp has been incredibly useful in finding some great places – it’s how I found the vet (with the free cookies) and while there are some cranky reviewers (of the Trip Advisor, mouth-frothiness variety) there are some very thoughtful reviews posted. I should return the favour with my own reviews. Soon.

And to end the day, I cooked us both a yummy dinner which I remembered to take a picture of just before it was demolished.

So that, my friends, is that. Tomorrow I pick up our couches, coffee tables, dining table, and assemble my first reading chair purchase! I know you’ll be dying to see so I’ll try to get the blog in to you at a reasonable hour 🙂

xx

20120702-213702.jpg

The first dinner cooked in Casa de Scholes. Ravioli and garden salad.. Delicioso.

One Comment on “Food Shopping and Second Tier Essentials”

  1. emmaalmen says:

    Oh I miss those raisins (the packaging more than the flavour)! We have them back in Sweden too, we weren’t allowed to eat candy mid-week so that was the substitute.
    It’s great to follow your US adventure, Adriana.


Leave a Reply

