Subway Fail – Meet Shopping Fail

To the various forms of transportation in NYC

Today, once more, I succumbed to your temptation despite the rain and attempted to use the subway.

This was with somewhat hilarious results as I attempted, and failed, to get to Greenpoint via the M line. Which for the record is not really possible because it’s on the G line.

I actually have to confess, I did end up on Manhattan island at one point, then I caught a new train – the F – which I have never caught before.

And as a result found some marvellous “99c Shops” (Aussies – this is exactly what it sounds like it is so I won’t explain) and bought some of my aforementioned essential items for home making, plus wandered around possibly the most Jewish area in Williamsburg and felt very inappropriately dressed in leopard print pants.

Image

Leopard Print jeans from Switchblade Stiletto… Macbook by Apple

In the interest of creating a reliable document for people of the future who are using this blog as their holy scripture I feel I need to be as descriptive as possible – to avoid unfortunateĀ misinterpretations that have plagued others in the past.

Essential item acquisitions:

– a saucepan with a lip so I can boil and pour water, and possibly even poach eggs in it if I feel so inclined

– a bread knife and cutting board

– two mugs (thought about buying just one – but that would mean sharing and mornings are not a good time to ask me to share anything) and some stainless steel teaspoons

– white vinegar and a spray bottle (useful for cleaning just about anything)

Feeling accomplished, I picked up some bagels and instant coffee and got home just before it decided to bucket down with rain again. Thought I’d done some good today. Flushed a few tissues down the loo and presto! It’s blocked. So hubby will have to pick up a plunger on the way home.

Mother&%*%

Yep, that’s right. Another essential item. No amount of poking wispy bits of toilet paper down what you can reach with a stick is going to clear a blocked toilet. Not even if you add vinegar.

Too much information?

One Comment on “Subway Fail – Meet Shopping Fail”

  1. Vanessa Steele says:

    ha ha don’t you just love a new plumbing system to get used too..


Leave a Reply

