STOP PRESS: Urgent fashion-related post

So my sweet friend Ellen tagged me in a post on Facebook today and seeing as it wasn’t her post I wondered what marketing palaver I was being suckered in to.

BUT IT TURNED OUT TO BE GENIUS.

Introducing Everlane. The concept is simple – designer brands are marked up at each point of the process. It’s a necessary evil in the fashion industry – but the US brand is turning the tide in its favour with some very clever marketing messages.

A little about them in their own words (from their Facebook about page):

” We Create Luxury Essentials For Under $100.

It’s a fact: Your $120 designer shirt sells for 8 times what it cost to make.

Not at Everlane.We’ve set out to challenge the system and offer designer-quality essentials at great and honest prices. No tricks. No middlemen taking their cut. No crazy brand markups. Just a new collection of essentials launched each month at half the typical cost. No exceptions.”

For a very clever presentation of the brand concept check out their website: http://www.everlane.com (NB – you will have to login with your Facebook to view it).

They seem to be focussed for now on essentials – starting with the essential designer tee. I’m as much a fan of a great tee as anyone (blazer, tee, pants, DONE) especially in the right fabric with the right cut. So they’ve created this beauty (The Women’s V) which I am 99.9999999% sure I will own by the end of this week:

I just met you but I think I love you. The Everlane women’s essential v – $15

They’re made in LA, and this week they have a pop-up shop in NY and launch event which I have RSVPd to. I just have to work up the nerve to go! Why? I am seriously crushing on this company.. it’s exactly what I’m into.. professionally and as a shopper.

WHAT THE HELL AM I GOING TO WEAR TO THE STORE?

Leave a Reply

